If Only They Stayed That Small Forever

I find it really bizarre how people are obsessed with children not growing up.  Other mums I meet literally in tears at the thought of their baby turning one. Strangers commenting “aww if only they never grew up”.  I’m aware that I have a different perspective from most people. I am the mother of a child who will never grow up. A child who by now should be walking and talking, climbing, having tantrums, causing me endless hours of frustration and laughter. 

J is currently going through a particularly bad phase of waking up 5-7 times a night. It’s exhausting but part of me just can’t help but think of what I would give for one night being kept up by Lentil, to be able to snuggle him back to sleep. I cherish every moment with J but that doesn’t mean that I don’t want her to grow up.  

When Lentil died I immediately began to think of all of the milestones that we would never see him reach which only makes J reaching milestones all the more special.  I can’t wait for her first birthday, I’m already thinking of ideas for her first birthday cake and saddened that although I will make a second birthday cake for Lentil he won’t get to share it with us.

3 thoughts on “If Only They Stayed That Small Forever

  1. If it makes you feel better, I don’t understand that attitude either. I find that they get better with age, I just wish you had the opportunity to see that with Lentil… xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Becca….as you know…I’ve enjoyed every stage of the kids growing up…..and it’s so lovely to look forward to each and every next step! I totally agree with you….cherish every moment….and embrace each new chapter! šŸ˜˜

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

