Chocolate Overload Cake

When I was little one of my favourite activities was baking with my Grandma.  She had a big set of old scales with weights that we used to use and we always had fun, even if some of our recipes didn’t go quite as planned.

  
On our birthdays we often had beautifully decorated cakes that my Grandma had made.  She was always very creative and you could tell that everything she made was made with love.  Today it is my Grandma’s birthday so it only seemed right that I should make her a cake.  Every visit to my Grandma’s house includes the offer of kitkats so I wanted my cake to incorporate these treats.  In the end I went for a complete chocolate overload.  Kentish sponge sandwiched together and covered with a white chocolate ganache.  Surrounded by kitkats and topped with a selection of chocolates!  This is not a diet friendly recipe but then no cake should be!

Ingredients:

For the cake

  • 200g butter
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 5 eggs
  • 200g self-raising flour
  • 50g cocoa powder 
  • 50g dessicated coconut
  • 50g ground almonds
  • 2tbsp golden syrup
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla essence

For the ganache:

  • 200g white chocolate 
  • 200ml double cream

To finish:

  • Kitkats
  • Chocolates

Method:

Preheat the oven to 170C, grease and line two sandwich tins.

Cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.  Then gradually beat in the eggs.  Add the flour and cocoa powder (if mixing by hand it’s best to sift these in but I find that my kitchenaid mixer gets rid of any lumps).  Mix in the coconut and almonds and then add the golden syrup and vanilla.

Split the mixture evenly between two cake tins.  This cake mixture has a tendency to rise in a peak so it’s worth making a dip in the centre before popping it in the oven.

Place into the oven for approximately half an hour or until a skewer comes out clean.

  
Leave the cakes to cool then turn out onto a wire rack to cool further.

Heat the double cream in a saucepan over a medium heat until it begins to bubble then pour over the white chocolate (the smaller the pieces you break the chocolate into the more quickly it will melt).  Stir until all of the chocolate is melted and it is mixed well.  Be warned this does take a while, I like to have a seat on the sofa and stir whilst watching the TV!

Once the ganache is mixed it needs to be allowed to cool and thicken.  You want it to be thick enough that it won’t just run down the sides of the cake but thin enough so that it’s spreadable.

Put a spoonful of ganache onto a cake board and place the first cake layer on top, this will stop the cake from sliding off the board when lifted!  Add a generous helping of ganache on top and then sandwich using the second layer of cake.  Then comes the messy bit!  Completely cover the top and sides of your cake in ganache then press kitkats all around the edge.  I had my husband on standby to hold them in place but actually they stuck really well (which was just as well as I had to send him on an emergency kitkat run!).  Once the kitkats are in place you can add the chocolates on top.

I finished the cake by adding a gold ribbon (which also made sure everything stayed in place!).

    

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Overload Cake

  1. What a gorgeous cake, I bet your Grandma was thrilled. I think if you ever want a new career path, definitely it should be in occasion cakes, your Grandma’s talents have obviously been passed on to you. I hope she had a lovely day. 🎂🍰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

