Seed And Grain Wholemeal Rolls

I’m a big fan of granary bread so I’ve been wanting to try this flour for a while.  I also love the retro 70s inspired pattern on the bag!


I asked my husband what I should bake today and he suggested rolls, we often find that we need to freeze some of what I bake.  Rolls are easier to freeze and defrost as needed than a loaf and he fancies nut cutlet burgers for dinner, so rolls were a perfect choice.  Plus it gives me a chance to try out my new flour!

I used:

  • 400g of Allinson Seed and Grain Wholemeal Flour
  • 1 sachet of instant yeast
  • A pinch of salt
  • 200g of warm water
  • 50g of olive oil

I used my thermomix to combine and knead the ingredients.  I popped everything in the thermomix and put it onto speed three for 20 seconds.  This did mean that some of the sunflower seeds were split but I don’t think that’s an awful thing!  If you don’t have a thermomix you could use a food processor or just mix by hand.

I then set the thermomix to knead the dough for one and a half minutes.  Again you could do this by hand.  The dough shouldn’t be too sticky or too dry.

Easy peasy!  I split the dough to make rolls, I made two slightly larger rolls so that our nut cutlets would fit!

I then left the dough to double in size which took about forty minutes.

The rolls needed about 22 minutes in an oven that was preheated to 180C. You know that they’re done when you knock on the bottom and they sound hollow.

The rolls were lovely, we filled them with nut cutlets, cheese, yellow pepper and mushrooms.

Leave a Reply

