Chocolate, Coconut and Almond Buns

You can either use this recipe to make 12 cupcakes (I know the term cupcakes is a bit American but I bought cupcake cases this time as they are bigger than bun or fairycake cases but smaller than muffin cases) or a 6″ cake.  I made cupcakes but if you wanted to make the cake you’d need to cook it for about 50 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean, and obviously pop the mixture into a greased cake tin rather than cupcake cases!

I used:

  • 100g of butter (chopped into cubes)
  • 100g of caster sugar
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 100g of self-raising flour
  • 25g of cocoa powder
  • 25g of desiccated coconut (plus some extra for sprinkling on top)
  • 25g of ground almonds
  • 1 tablespoon of golden syrup (this mixes more easily if it’s a bit warm)
  • 1/2 a teaspoon of vanilla essence
  • Your choice of chocolate for the top

Cream the butter and sugar together until it’s light and fluffy.  Gradually add the eggs to the mixture.  I find this easiest to do using my Kitchenaid food mixer as it takes the strain out of stirring!

Gradually add the flour and cocoa powder to the mixture and stir together.

Next you need to add the coconut and almonds, once this is all mixed you can then add the golden syrup and vanilla essence.  Stir well, again!

Put your mixture into cupcake cases and cook in a preheated oven at 180C for 15 minutes.

Unfortunately I burnt my cupcakes slightly as I went to hang my washing out while they were cooking and I was attacked by ants!

  
I decided that I would disguise this by melting chocolate to pop on top. I melted the chocolate by putting hot water in a large bowl then putting a small bowl with the chocolate in inside the larger bowl.  I find that this takes a bit longer but there’s no chance of burning the chocolate.  It also meant that I could make a cuppa at the same time as I was boiling the kettle for the hot water anyway, and I could drink it while the chocolate was melting!

 
Once the chocolate was melted I put some on the top of each cupcake and added a sprinkling of coconut on top.
  

Leave a Reply

