White Bread Rolls With A Hint Of Garlic

This blog post is cheating really as the recipe is almost identical to my white loaf recipe.  This time I used:

  • 400g of strong bread flour
  • 1 sachet of instant yeast
  • 200g of warm water
  • 50g of olive oil
  • 1 level tsp of garlic salt

I began by grinding up the garlic salt, I used garlic sea salt from The Cornish Sea Salt Company, the grains of salt are quite big so I thought grinding it up would be a good idea.

 

I then added the rest of the dry ingredients, then added the oil and warm water and mixed it together.

Once the ingredients are mixed the dough needs to be kneaded until it’s smooth.

I then broke pieces of dough off and put them on a tray greased with olive oil and left them to rise, covered with a clean tea towel, for 45 minutes.  The dough needs to double in size.  

 In retrospect I probably should have made the rolls slightly neater and rounder but there’s nothing wrong with a rustic look. 

I baked the rolls at 180C for 18 minutes.  You can check they’re done by knocking on the bottom.  If they are, they will sound hollow.

The rolls aren’t going to win me the title of star baker in the bake off but they’ll do the job for our dinner!

  

The rolls were delicious, if a little on the small side for our nut cutlets!

  

Leave a Reply

