White Sesame Seed Loaf (Who Knew I Could Make Bread?)

I decided this week that I really ought to make something that wasn’t sweet.  We keep running out of bread and I’m still not keen on going to any shops nearby so I thought I’d have a go at making a simple white loaf.  I find kneading hard, partly because I hate having sticky fingers and partly because my arms get tired so easily.  Mainly because I can’t stand sticky fingers though!

I decided to use the all singing, all dancing thermomix but you could use any food processor or if you fancy some exercise you could mix by hand.

I used:

  • 400g of strong white bread flour
  • 1 sachet of instant yeast
  • 200g of warm water
  • 50g of olive oil

To use the thermomix just pop all of the ingredients inside together and mix on speed 3 for 20 seconds.  If you aren’t using a thermomix or food processor put the flour and yeast in a bowl, make a well in the centre, add the oil and water and mix.  

In the thermomix you then just put it on the dough setting for one and a half minutes.  Without a thermomix you will need to get sticky fingers as it’s time to knead the dough.  The dough needs to be really smooth.

You’ll need a loaf tin or a baking sheet, you can make the bread any shape you fancy really but I used a loaf tin.  Grease whatever you are using with olive oil and add the dough.  Brush a thin layer of olive oil over the dough.

  
Now it’s time to be patient, you need to allow the dough to rise, you need to leave it somewhere relatively warm although as it’s the Summer my kitchen worktop was warm enough.  You need to leave it until it doubles in size, cover it with a clean tea towel to keep the heat in.  I love sesame seeds so I also added some on top.

My dough took about 45 minutes to rise but it will depend on the temperature of the room so just keep an eye on it.  I then popped it in the oven for 25 minutes at 180C.  My oven is fan assisted so you may need to adjust the temperature for your oven.  To my surprise it actually looked like a loaf when I took it out!  

  
To check that your loaf is done you need to turn it over and knock on the bottom.  The loaf should sound hollow.  I had a slight sesame seed loss issue but I’ve had a look online and apparently brushing the dough with water and then pressing the dough onto the seeds works well, I’ll try it next time and will let you know!

The real test of course is in the cutting and eating!

  
Thankfully it looked and tasted like bread!  The original recipe had salt and sugar in but I didn’t use either and I don’t think the bread suffered at all but you could add a teaspoon of each if you wanted.

Leave a Reply

