Quite Possibly The Best Chewy Triple Chocolate Cookies Ever

I know, I know, these are not going to help my figure. Especially as I’m sitting writing this eating a white chocolate chip scone with jam for breakfast (we’ve nearly eaten all the scones although we have had to freeze some too!).  I think these cookies should probably come with some sort of health warning because they’re just too delicious and could make you very fat very quickly!  This is my favourite recipe so far since starting the blog although it did make me cry.  It’s the funniest things that I find upsetting, I just suddenly felt overwhelmed with sadness that I would never bake anything with or for my son.  I would have liked to have made these for Lentil and his friends.  Hopefully one day I’ll be making them for someone and their friends.  In the meantime I’m sharing the recipe so lots of other little people (and big people too) can enjoy them.

I tend to start with a recipe and then deviate quite heavily from it, the original recipe had raisins in, this was clearly a mistake as there’s very little in this world that’s more disappointing than thinking you have a chocolate cookie and then discovering a raisin!  So instead I just used far more chocolate!

  • 120g of diced unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 250g of dark brown sugar
  • 1tsp of vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 150g of plain flour
  • 35g of self-raising flour
  • 1tsp of bicarbonate of soda (level teaspoon)
  • 35g of cocoa powder
  • 100g of dark chocolate
  • 100g of milk chocolate
  • 100g of white chocolate

I started by chopping the chocolate up.  I always use Cadbury milk and dark chocolate in my cooking because it’s the best, I definitely wouldn’t use milk or dark cooking chocolate.  I’m not so fussy about the White chocolate, this time I bought white chocolate chips so that there was less to chop.  It was very tempting to just sit down and eat the contents of this bowl.

 

Next I turned my oven on to 160C and left it to warm up.  My oven is fan assisted so if yours isn’t you might need to increase the temperature a bit.

The recipe is super easy, basically you just mix everything together.  I used the Thermomix but you could use any food processor or a big spoon and some muscles.  Mix the butter, sugar, flours, cocoa, bicarbonate of soda, egg and vanilla together (in the thermomix this needs about 30 seconds at speed 5).  Then stir in the chocolate!  That’s pretty much it!

Spoon out balls of mixture and put them onto a greased baking tray, squish the balls of mixture slightly so that they flatten a bit.  I use glass Pyrex baking trays, they’re really versatile and you can give them a good scrub without worrying about scratching them unlike non-stick trays.

  
You need to leave quite a bit of room around the cookies to allow for them to expand, I have to admit that leaving the right amount of room was more luck than judgement in this case!  Pop them in the oven (160C) for about 13 minutes.

 
 When you take the cookies out of the oven it’s really important to let them rest for a while before you transfer them to a cooling rack.  The chocolate and butter needs time to cool and harden and if you try to move them too quickly they will just fall apart.  I left mine on baking trays for a minimum of five minutes before carefully moving them to a cooling rack using a pallete knife.  This recipe makes about 24 cookies.

6 thoughts on “Quite Possibly The Best Chewy Triple Chocolate Cookies Ever

  1. Oh my god Becca! We are so similar! I have exactly the same thoughts about raisins!! Why would anyone ruin a perfectly good biscuit or cookie with them!! Chocolate all the way 😊😊. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My boys thank you for sharing this scrummy recipe, we all agreed chocolate rather than raisins. You don’t know Dominick, Jacob, or James but they have all willing ‘paid’ for your lovely recipe, and Adam gives me his pocket money, he says swapping cookies to help you and your fundraising is a good swap. Love and hugs the Richards xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

