White Chocolate Chip Scones

I seem to be spending a lot of time in the kitchen lately, yesterday was no exception.  I think I’m going to have to start organising coffee mornings or something, I’m never going to lose the rest of my pregnancy weight if I keep eating everything I make!  

I used the following ingredients:

  • 450g of plain flour
  • 3 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 120g of butter (cut into small cubes)
  • 50g caster sugar
  • 225g milk 
  • 100g white chocolate (either chocolate chips or cut into small pieces)

In case you’re wondering why the liquids tend to be weighed in my recipes it’s because I use a thermomix.  Thermomix is a machine that chops, blends, weighs and heats ingredients.  We received one as a wedding gift from my Gran, it’s amazing and makes life in the kitchen a lot easier!

You need to begin by mixing all of the ingredients apart from the white chocolate.  I use the thermomix for this (knead setting for about 1 minute, stopping to scrape the sides as necessary) but you could use a food processor with a dough hook or just knead it by hand.  Then add the white chocolate chips and knead again until they’re spread evenly through the mixture.

Roll your dough out to about 1.5cm thick on a lightly floured surface and cut your scones out using a cookie cutter.  It turns out I have cookie cutters in all different shapes and sizes apart from round hence why my scones are heart shaped!  Place the scones onto a baking tray lined with grease proof paper and finally brush some milk on top of your scones to give them a nice golden colour.

  
I then cooked my scones at 210C for about 13 minutes.  Apparently scones have to be cooked in a really hot oven but I think it was too hot for them.  Next time I plan to cook them on a lower heat for longer as they didn’t rise as much as I would have liked and the white chocolate was a little burnt around the edges.  Despite this they are delicious, especially with some strawberry jam!

  

2 thoughts on “White Chocolate Chip Scones

Leave a Reply

