Butternut Squash, Halloumi and Mixed Bean Pie

We honestly don’t have pie and chips for dinner every day, I’m not really obsessed with pastry!  We had some butternut squash that we needed to use up so we decided to have a go at making a butternut squash pie.  I say ‘we’ as I roped my husband into lending a hand.  We had a look at what we had in the cupboard and decided on the following ingredients.  Ready made pastry again I’m afraid! We went for Jus-Rol shortcrust pastry, we used Sainsbury’s own brand last time and I thought it had a slightly odd hint of cinnamon to it!  The Jus-Roll was lovely though.

  • Jus-Rol shortcrust pastry
  • 700g Butternut squash
  • 200g Cherry tomatoes
  • 1 tin of mixed beans in water (120g)
  • Rosemary
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 100g light halloumi
  • Olive oil

You need to start by chopping the butternut squash into cubes.  Muscles and a big knife are needed for this job.  My husband doesn’t let me use big knives, I only have seven and a bit fingers and he says I can’t afford to lose anymore so he did the chopping.  We put the cubes into a roasting dish with four cloves of garlic, some rosemary and some olive oil.  We popped that into the oven at 180C for about 45 minutes.

  

Next the tomatoes were cut in half, we used a mix of baby plum and cherry tomatoes as that’s what we happened to have in the fridge.  These were also roasted at 180C in some olive oil for about 20 minutes.

  

I am a massive fan of halloumi but if you don’t like it you could easily replace it with a different cheese, if you plan to use something else obviously don’t griddle it!  Just add it to the pie before adding the pastry lid!  I griddled the halloumi until it became that lovely golden colour.

  

Once all of the ingredients for the filling were cooked we removed the garlic and squeezed the insides out, I love garlic but you could leave it out if you don’t.  We mixed everything together and added the mixed beans.  We left the mixture to one side while we got the pastry ready.

  

I wasn’t quite sure how to tackle the next part, we decided to blind bake the pastry case, cooking for about 15 minutes at 180C.  We then added the filling.

The pastry was all a bit of a mess but we patched up any holes.  I tried to make the pastry really thin (I put 3 and a half stone on while I was pregnant and huge amounts of pastry is not going to help that!) so it was really hard not to tear it.  I used a squirrel cookie cutter to make a decoration for the top.  I then brushed the top with milk before baking.  We cooked the pie at 180C for about 22 minutes.

As you can see we had some crumbling issues when we removed the pie from its pie dish but it mainly stayed together.  It also looked a bit anaemic but there’s nothing wrong with pale and interesting.  It was definitely cooked but could have been left to brown a little more.  We were just too hungry!

  

We were very naughty and had chips again, you have to with pie though really!  It was delicious and we’ll definitely be making it again!

 

Leave a Reply

