Dark Chocolate and Toffee Tarts

I had some pastry left over from the cheesy leek pie I made the other day so thought I’d better use it up.  I thought I’d try something sweet this time.  I had fairly limited ingredients and next time I’d change it a bit but here’s what I used:

  • Left over ready made pastry
  • 60g unsalted butter
  • 25g caster sugar
  • 35g soft brown sugar
  • 75g golden syrup
  • 40g semi-skimmed milk
  • Vanilla extract
  • Dark chocolate

I started off by rolling the pastry out as thinly as I could, I then put it into two individual pie dishes.  I pricked the base with a fork as this is supposed to help to stop the pastry from rising.

  
I then put grease proof paper and ceramic beads into the pie dishes, again to stop the pastry from rising.  I baked the tart cases in the oven at 180C for 15 minutes.

  

While the tart cases were baking I made some toffee sauce.  I used the thermomix but you can also make it in a pan.  You need to heat the butter, sugars and golden syrup together in a pan over a moderate heat.   Once everything’s melted and well mixed (keep stirring all the time) add the milk and a couple of drops of vanilla essence.  Heat again and cook for about 5 minutes.  This made quite a bit of toffee sauce so we have some left over to go on ice-cream!  Yay!

  

Once the tart case was cooked I poured some of the toffee sauce inside and popped it into the fridge to set.  It took about an hour for the toffee to set.

  

I had a few squares of Bournville in the fridge so decided to melt it and add it on top.

 

It was delicious but you definitely need to have a very sweet tooth to enjoy it!


Next time I would mix chopped nuts in with the toffee sauce to give it a bit more substance and to make it a little less sweet!  

2 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate and Toffee Tarts

Leave a Reply

